A Goodnight Poem for My Sweetheart.

From: ‘Cien sonetos de amor’

One time more, my love, the net of light extinguishes
work, wheels, flames, boredoms and farewells,
and we surrender the swaying wheat to night,
the wheat that noon stole from earth and light.

 The moon alone in the midst of its clear page
sustains the pillars of Heaven’s Bay,
the room acquires the slowness of gold,
and your hands go here and there preparing night.

O love, O night. O cupola ringed by a river
of impenetrable water in the shadows of Heaven,
that raises and drowns its tempestuous orbs,

until we are only the one dark space
a glass into which fall celestial ashes,
one drop in the flow of a vast slow river.

by Pablo Neruda.

http://www.freenetpages.co.uk/hp/freeman/#_Toc8648128    

~ by blacksheepdiarist on June 11, 2007.

4 Responses to “A Goodnight Poem for My Sweetheart.”

  1. I love Naruda’s poems. I wish I could write anything half as beautiful. I came across his work for the first time through a film ‘Il Postino’, which is rather shameful, but better than not at all. If you like his work, you might like Rabindranath Tagore.
    Your sweetheart is a lucky gal, that you should send her nice words like that to fall asleep to.

  2. Your sweetheart sure is a lucky girl. Pablo has some really amazing ideas on poetry, love, and social justice.
    This is one another one of my favorite love poems:

    The Potter

    Your whole body holds
    a goblet or gentle sweetness destined for
    me.

    When I let my hand climb,
    in each place I find a dove
    that was looking for me, as if
    my love, they had made you out of clay
    for my very own potter’s hands.

    Your knees, your breasts,
    your waist
    are missing in me, like in the hollow
    of a thirsting earth
    where they relinquished
    a form,
    and together
    we are complete like one single river,
    like one single grain of sand.

    We are continuing his legacy of expression and social activism.
    If you want to find out more about Pablo, or his poetry, his political ideals,
    or how we are working to keep these things going, please check out the
    Red Poppy Website!

  3. […] I’ve been introduced to another wonderful poem by Pablo Neruda, this time thanks to Puckerbrush via a comment, who also pointed me in the direction of a website devoted to Neruda.  This […]

  4. […] Goodnight Poem for My Sweetheart.A poem by pablo Neruda.https://talkingliberties.wordpress.com/2007/06/11/a-goodnight-poem-for-my-sweetheart/Selected Poems – Google Books Resultby pablo neruda – 1961 – Poetry – 320 pagesRecords the selected […]

Leave a Reply

 
