On Hugs and Handshakes.

Hugging is not something  generally associated with men raised in the west of Scotland.    Certainly, I could count the times I have given a big hug to my brother or my Dad on the fingers of one hand.  Upon greeting one another, we give firm handshakes, no more, no less. 

Hugging has become quite a normal event for me now.  It is something I have gleaned from my involvement with the anti-nuclear and anti-war movement.  After an action, a demo, or even a meeting, we are all hugging one another!  At first, the roughy-toughy Scotsman in me found this a little disconcerting, but gradually it has become sorta second nature to me now.  I’ll hug anyone these days!   Hugging is a great way to offer respect, affection, luck, solidarity, love, or condolences.   It is also far less formal than a stiff handshake, and carries no connotations of belonging to a secret society!

And with this in mind, I am going to go out of my way to hug my Dad tomorrow, Father’s Day.  He’ll likely think something is wrong, or I’m after something, or I’ve turned into a “poofter”, but I’m going to do it anyway.   Despite our differences, it will be my way of saying “You are my Dad, and I love you”.  Fact is, the Scotsman in me will never allow me to say that out loud! 

So, this Father’s Day, say I love you Dad with a great big bear hug.  If nothing else, it’ll freak yer old man right out! 

~ by blacksheepdiarist on June 16, 2007.

4 Responses to “On Hugs and Handshakes.”

  1. now you should move on to kissing on the cheek. seriously.

  2. I appreciate your suggestion, La Flor. I can almost see my Dad’s reaction to a kiss on the cheek now, and it is not pretty. Though it is, admittedly, highly amusing!
    When I gave my Dad a hug on Sunday, he was surprised to say the least. If I recall correctly his reply was “right, that’s enough of THAT”.
    I think I will stick to the hugging just now, and save all my kisses for the ladies in my life – my mum and my girlfriend.
    Peace

  3. I’m with La Flor on this one. Kissing on each cheek, properly placed, not just an air kiss. And if you can do it in a public place, like the local pub or a family restaurant then extra kudos. Now how’s that for a dare?
    big hug and a kiss on both cheeks.

  4. madbadhairday, I think you are trying to get me killed!

Leave a Reply

 
