If You Can’t Beat ‘Em, Join ‘Em – Facebook and Bebo.

I have surprised myself today by joining a couple of social networking sites, namely FaceBook and Bebo.  Various people have been nagging me for long enough, in particular my brother with regards to Bebo, and a few exiled friends with regard to FaceBook.    Considering I am spending quite a bit of time online at the moment, I have justified it to myself in terms of making it easier to communicate with far-flung friends and family.  At least that is my excuse, and I’m sticking to it!

I set up my Bebo account first, which only took minutes.  I can’t say I am overly impressed with my initial forays there.  It seems a bit limited, though I have still to get a hang of the place as yet.  The Princess had previously warned me away from Bebo, saying it was full of perverts and young lassies pretending to be young women.  Not that I am using it for perving or cruising for women!  Though, it has to be said that I am mildly disappointed that I have not been propositioned by some sleazy pervert for a rendevouz in a car-park as of yet. (only kidding, Princess!) 

FaceBook seems a little more expansive and promising, I quite enjoyed the hour or two it took me to get my page up and running earlier, and surfing around the site in general.  Already I have joined groups dedicated to peace in the Middle East, Anarchism, the scottish comedy show Still Game, and one for fans of Rufus Wainwright.  I found this far easier to do than on Bebo, that’s for sure.   Before too long I’d come across the page of a guy I have not seen in something like 20 years!  ( how did I get so OLD? :/ )   With luck, I can use these sites to track down some more of my old friends from school in Dumbarton and Clydebank.

If anyone is interested, my sites can be found in the sidebar under My Other Boltholes.  You never know, one day we might ALL be friends!?

*EDIT* – Bebo sucks, nobody on that site uses vowels, or can spell.  FaceBook is still under trial.

~ by blacksheepdiarist on July 17, 2007.

2 Responses to “If You Can’t Beat ‘Em, Join ‘Em – Facebook and Bebo.”

  1. this is really true an bebo is more for middle school kids and facebook is more for college kids and myspace is just for entertaiment and its more perverts and lassies than both of those sites but i say that this is very true!

  2. Well thanks Ashley, for popping by, and for leaving a message agreeing with me!

    I have not used my Bebo page since I first set it up, and should really delete it, though FaceBook I am finding far more agreeable. And it has Scrabble! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
