Gypsy Punks and Drunken Fairies.

It’s not every day that gypsy punks and drunken fairies enter my home.  But that is what happened today, believe it or not.  A good friend of mine up in bonnie Scotland sent me a package which contained a CD by Gogol Bordello, and a book called The Good Fairies Of New York, by Martin Millar.   An accompanying note enthused that Gogol Bordello are going to take over the planet.    Initial impressions suggest he might well be onto something.  But then, he usually is.  This is the same guy that got me into Tom Waits and Kurt Vonnegut, which I will be forever grateful for.

 As soon as I can find 5 minutes I will finish The Good Fairies Of New York and offer my thoughts on it.  I read the first 100 pages or so earlier in a breathless five minutes.  It starts with fairies in green kilts and badly dyed hair, landing, hungover, in a New York apartment and  promptly vomitting on the carpet.  Sounds promising, eh?

~ by blacksheepdiarist on July 19, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
