Another Goodnight Poem for My Sweetheart.

I’ve been introduced to another wonderful poem by Pablo Neruda, this time thanks to Puckerbrush via a comment, who also pointed me in the direction of a website devoted to Neruda.  This translation is slightly different from the one in the comments section making it a little clearer, I think.  Anyway, I thought I’d repost the poem more prominently, as it certainly deserves it in my opinion.  It’s dedicated to the lassie known in these pages as the gorgeous girlfriend, or the Princess, the girl I can’t love enough. X 

The Potter

Your whole body has
a fullness or a gentleness destined for me.

When I move my hand up
I find in each place a dove
that was seeking me, as
if they had, love, made you of clay
for my own potter’s hands.

Your knees, your breasts,
your waist
are missing parts of me like the hollow
of a thirsty earth
from which they broke off
a form,
and together
we are complete like a single river,
like a single grain of sand.

~ by blacksheepdiarist on November 9, 2007.

2 Responses to “Another Goodnight Poem for My Sweetheart.”

  1. That’s a beautiful poem. Thank you. xxxx

  2. Aww, you guys are too cute! It’s nice to feel like I am spreading the love (-;

    Do you know this one:

    Sonnet XVII

    I don ’t love you as if you were a rose of salt, topaz,
    or arrow of carnations that propagate fire:
    I love you as one loves certain obscure things,
    secretly, between the shadow and the soul.

    I love you as the plant that doesn’t bloom but carries
    the light of those flowers, hidden, within itself,
    and thanks to your love the tight aroma that arose
    from the earth lives dimly in my body.

    I love you without knowing how, or when, or
    from where
    I love you directly without problems or pride:
    I love you like this because I don’t know any other way
    to love,

    except in this form in which I am not nor are you,
    so close that your hand upon my chest is mine,
    so close that your eyes close with my dreams.

    Also found on the
    Red Poppy Website!

Leave a Reply

 
