My 35th Birthday.

I was under the impression on Saturday evening that I was going to the pub to have a quiet drink with the gorgeous girlfriend.  So it was a great surprise to find  many of my friends awaiting our arrival.  The wonderful and quite devious wench had only gone and arranged a surprise birthday party for me!   And I didn’t have the faintest idea. 

Humbled, and in a state of shock, I didn’t know what to do for the first hour or so.   I was reluctant to open the cards and presents I had been given as I was still unsure that they were really mine, that it wasn’t some bizarre misunderstanding.  A party?  For me?  Shurely shome mishtake…?   I recall wandering the pub in a daze, saying “what you doing here?”, “what YOU doing here?”, “what the fuck you doing HERE?”, to various members of my family, and friends who had travelled to be there.

Soon enough I realised that it was all very real, and not some waking dream.  And it evolved into a rather splendid evening, which I suspect was enjoyed by all in attendance.  Though unfortunately my Mum and Nan had to leave early as the music in the pub was a little too loud for them.   As we approached the end of the evening it became quite clear that my younger cousins and one or two of my friends were determined to get me into a nightclub, despite my protestations.   Suffice to say my subsequent hangover owed itself entirely to the environs of club C-103, or whatever the hell it’s called, on Union Street.  Never again.

Anyway, I’d like to extend the most sincere thanks to all who came out last Saturday.  You are all wonderful, each and every one of you, and I thank you all from the bottom of my heart.  You made an old man very happy!  And as for the gorgeous girlfriend, who arranged all this with so much secret skullduggery, what can I say other than “I Love You”, and “wait til I get you home!”

~ by blacksheepdiarist on December 3, 2007.

4 Responses to “My 35th Birthday.”

  1. Happy birthday Freeluncher!

  2. Why thank you Alice. You know, you’ve been coming here for a wee while now, I think you can call me John!
    Peace

  3. So glad my ‘ology in devious wenching hasn’t been wasted.
    I’m rubbish at keeping secrets…. so you might as well know that your mum has hidden the christmas presents behind the cooker. Oh, and I’m seeing that bloke from the chip shop.

  4. Anything for a free chip…
    Oh well, so what’s under the cooker? Is it a train set?

Leave a Reply

 
